Christian Mingle Reviews You'll Want To Read!

I think we'd all agree Christian Mingle is the largest Christian dating site on the planet.

However, bigger doesn't always mean better.

In this Christian Mingle review, we'll cover crucial strengths and weaknesses of ChristianMingle vs newcomer ChristianCrush so you can make an informed choice on which platform to join.

 

1-Do you want a Christian company?

The first point in our ChrisitanMingle (CM) review with ChristianCrush (CC) is they both allow free searches and both provide a platform for singles to meet.

Unfortunately, that's where the similarities end.

One of the first major differences is how CM is not Christian owned and operated while CC is.

 

2-Do you want a free trial?

The second major contrast is that CC provides two weeks free and CM does not.

A free trial allows people to fully experience CC before deciding if they would like to become a subscribed member or not.

Also, it provides more opportunities for people to join CC who may not be able to afford a subscription fee otherwise.

 

3-Do you want the member's screened?

A third major difference is CC screens every new member and CM does not.

While they can't guarantee the accuracy of their screens or a member's actions beyond their site, CC can guarantee that every new profile is manually reviewed for authenticity.

In contrast, CM has had multiple problems with the quality of their members.

 

4-Do you want it to be privately owned?

A fourth major contrast is CC is privately owned and operated.

In contrast, CM is owned by Spark Networks which operates more than 20 various dating sites, resulting in much less individualized care and concern for its members.

 

Christian mingle reviews | Christianmingle reviews

 

5-Do you want it developed by a Christian psychologist?

A fifth difference is CC was developed by a Christian Psychologist and CM was not.

Knowing who the owner of CC is and what his credentials are creates a level of safety, trust, and integrity.

In contrast, CM uses a cookie cutter template that's the same for all of Spark Network's 20 dating sites.

 

6-Do you want them to tithe?

A sixth major difference is CC tithes 10% to local ministries and CM does not.

With CC, members know their financial contribution will be furthering other ministries as well.

In contrast, many CM members have filed complaints on how their finances are handled.

 

7-Do you want to use video profiles?

The seventh major difference is CC provides video profiles and CM does not.

CC is the only Christian dating site currently providing this service.

Video profiles provide tremendous amounts of information both verbally and nonverbally, leading to better matches.

 

8-Do you want to use personality assessments?

Finally, the eighth main difference is CC uses a research based personality test and CM does not.

Using valid assessments are essential for successful matches

Primarily, they allow members to filter profiles based on various personality traits they desire.


 

The following table illustrates some of the major differences between CM and CC.

ChristianMingle.com® is a registered trademark of Spark Networks USA, LLC

ItemChristian. Mingle.com®Christian. Crush.com
Provides format for Christians singles to meet
Yes Yes
Allows members to search profiles for free Yes Yes
Christian owned and operated No Yes
Provides a free trial
No Yes
New members are screened
No Yes
Privately run for individualized customer care
No Yes
Developed by a Christian psychologist
No Yes
10% tithed to local ministries
No Yes
Video profiles integrated
No Yes
Personality assessments integrated
No Yes
 

 


What's been your experience with ChristianMingle vs ChristianCrush?

Comments (55)

mdgtwmn
I was with CM for 6 months and I got a lot of scammers. It was really upsetting. I waited a few years and decided to try CC. I've had a few men look at my profile but I accidentally removed a couple of them. Is there any way to get them back?

By mdgtwmn on August 12, 2016 @ 5:53pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks....unfortunately, there's no way to get them back. Keep reaching out!

By Dr. Wyatt on August 14, 2016 @ 3:50pm MT

iversonryan
Whenever a business decides to put itself before its customers, I feel an urge to share my story with others (in a hopefully calm, rational, and unbiased way). CM recently gave me this urge. I actively used CM from May 2015 to March 2016, which is when I met my current girlfriend (I met her on another website, not CM). I had a good experience using it, but then I was charged for an auto-renewal of $113.94 in May 2016. I emailed them telling them my situation and that I had forgotten that I would be charged for an auto-renewal for an additional 6 months when my time was up. I have a lot of memberships - some auto-renew and some don't, so it's tough to keep track of. The overwhelming majority of businesses understand this and are understanding when I ask if I can get a refund from an auto-renew (I've probably had this happen about 5 other times - all the businesses were totally cool giving me a refund). I emailed them asking if I could get a refund since I hadn't used their website since March (when I entered my current relationship) and had no intention of using it for the time being. I thought this was a reasonable request, but they didn't think so. They told me several times that it's in their "Terms" that I accepted and I should've been more on top of it and canceled my service before the auto-renewal hit. I told them that's fine, but I promised I would never use their service again if they wouldn't make this exception. They told me to call them so they could assist me with my recent charge. After 4 call attempts on 3 different days (they closed over 2 hours early one day, closed for lunch another, long hold time), they finally pick up. They look into my situation and tell me that they aren't going to give me a refund, because I basically should've known better and should've canceled my subscription before the auto-renew charge occurred (thank you for making me feel like a 14-year old getting a lecture from an adult again). Essentially it was all my fault. I find it funny that they told me to call them so they could "assist me with my recent charge" by telling me exactly what they told me over email. I told them I would never use their service again if this was the stance they were going to take and they seemed fine with it (they must have all the money and business they could possibly want). Like I said earlier, this is one of those rare occasions where the business puts itself before its customers and I thought I should share my story so others don't need to experience the same thing. They knew my situation, they knew I hadn't used their service since March, and still decided to charge me thru November while giving me a lecture about how I'm not a responsible person, because it was in their "Terms" agreement. Blessings, A calm, rational, and unbiased customer

By iversonryan on June 23, 2016 @ 1:09pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks for the feedback IversonRyan....sorry to hear of your negative experience with ChristianMingle on their automatic renewal process. I've definitely heard a lot of similar stories.

By Dr. Wyatt on June 24, 2016 @ 1:36pm MT

'Crush' as a African I wanna thank you for creating such an avenue which serves in connecting Christians all over the globe. Unfortunately here in Africa not everyone possess a credit card, I really don't know how to go about paying for the charges.

By on November 22, 2015 @ 10:56am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Tata......I appreciate your positive feedback. Unfortunately, there's no other forms of payment we can accept at this time. God bless you!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 23, 2015 @ 5:50am MT

gracie12
Thank you for creating this site at first I thought it was just a joke when u asked for my state id,thanks for being vigilant with the offenders my the good lord bless the work you are doing

By gracie12 on July 8, 2015 @ 4:46am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
My pleasure....we try to keep a close eye on who is joining to increase the quality of our members.

By Dr. Wyatt on July 8, 2015 @ 4:56pm MT

I am a serious Christian and the profiles here seem to be in line with that. I hope it works out well. I have tried the others, and you must mow a lot of grass before you get to the flowers. This seems much more suited to find a mate who is hungry for the things of God.

By on July 1, 2015 @ 8:12pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your analogy about mowing grass before you get to the flowers. God bless your journey!

By Dr. Wyatt on July 1, 2015 @ 8:15pm MT

Brbo70
Christian Crush needs to allow for more specific searches. I have specific needs.

By Brbo70 on June 6, 2015 @ 8:16am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Brbo70....yes, that's something we plan to do on the horizon once our database grows larger.

By Dr. Wyatt on June 6, 2015 @ 12:39pm MT

I use to be on CM, but so many men who claimed they were Christians never attended church or bible study at any time. Disappointing. This is why I choose CC, I am a new member as of today.

By on March 11, 2015 @ 6:31pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Welcome Eternity...I hope you find more authentic Christ followers here.....Blessings!

By Dr. Wyatt on March 12, 2015 @ 8:37am MT

Jeanb
with Christ in the vessel we can smile at the storm

By Jeanb on May 26, 2014 @ 8:44am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Yes, He is the rock!

By Dr. Wyatt on May 26, 2014 @ 10:17am MT

RubyJewel
Maggielou made a very good point that highlights my favorite feature of ChristianCrush: the first item on every profile is "Faith History". It's the most vital information any Christian single needs to know about a potential mate, so of course it should be first. It isn't that way on ChristianMingle that I recall! When I'm searching profiles here, because of the small excerpt I can read under Faith History, I know whether or not I want to read more. On CC, that's where you make your first impression (other than your photo), so you should make good use of the opportunity. If a guy makes no effort, or just didn't have anything to say, I know he's either not compatible with me or that he's one of those fake Christians. The man I want to be with will be willing and able to share his testimony. My best chance to find a true believer online is on ChristianCrush.

By RubyJewel on May 23, 2014 @ 3:15pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks RubyJewel....I appreciate your feedback on how you like that we put faith history first and foremost on every profile....trying to keep first things first.

By Dr. Wyatt on May 24, 2014 @ 9:37am MT

I really like this site but I hope that you continue to develop it for larger members as advertised on Christian radio even more and develop a mobile site that can be viewed over an iPhone or android. Also, I have an iPhone and iPad and can't record video since you're using the flash player technology. Could I suggest possibly Microsoft Silverlight? Or could you accept a video uploaded to you via YouTube?

By on February 26, 2014 @ 11:52pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Rexydog1....I appreciate all of your great ideas. We plan on moving to a responsive design in the future so our site is equally accessible on all devices and platforms. Regarding the video, you can record one on your iphone or ipad (no longer than 30 seconds) and email it to info@christiancrush.com.

By Dr. Wyatt on February 27, 2014 @ 7:54am MT

Faw Ling 4 U
I have tried a few different sites and seem to have an easier time finding women of faith here than on other sites. There are a number of other "christian" places like cdff and cafe, but none with the integrity I see here. On a technical note, some of the other places have better fine grained searching abilities, so hopefully that will get better with time, like being able to specify better age based searches, searches filters for height, attendance, children, etc... More links to approved resources, i.e. something Dr. W. would actually recommend rather than ads, would be great also, like good books relating to singleness, dating, relationships, etc... Blessings, Brad

By Faw Ling 4 U on December 27, 2013 @ 10:59am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Faw Ling 4 U...I really appreciate the feedback from you. One book I'd recommend for singles from a Christian perspective is Boundaries in Dating by Cloud and Townsend...it's great!

By Dr. Wyatt on December 27, 2013 @ 12:45pm MT

mountaingirl46
I have met a good Christian man on CM and no one on CC. Also Christian crush makes it harder to pay due to does not accept all credit cards.

By mountaingirl46 on November 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you for the feedback Mountaingirl46. So glad to hear you were able to meet someone special on ChristianMingle. I pray it goes well for you!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 30, 2013 @ 8:56am MT

amande del ville
am really happy to be part of this program

By amande del ville on November 19, 2013 @ 3:17am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Amande!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 19, 2013 @ 2:38pm MT

Pandoraiam
Do pray that you would expand to Alberta, Canada. God Bless you for your much needed ministry.

By Pandoraiam on November 10, 2013 @ 10:05am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Pandoraiam..I really appreciate your support!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 10, 2013 @ 8:00pm MT

Maggielou
CM has a lot of very questionable "christians" that are trying to come across as believers. All I have to do is ready one or two answers and it is done! The biggest is one is where do you go to church or a similar question...most of the answers are nowhere!

By Maggielou on November 8, 2013 @ 7:13pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
HI Maggielou...yes...there are many spammers out there trying to create fake profiles all the time.

By Dr. Wyatt on November 10, 2013 @ 7:58pm MT

DancingBear
Your site is by far the better. I was pleasantly shocked to receive a personal reply from you when I asked a question regarding privacy. I haven't joined because there weren't any men in my age group near me. I suppose I should rethink this because I am counting on God to bring me a mate and I certainly think He would choose to bring me someone through my church or through a site that honors Him.

By DancingBear on November 8, 2013 @ 4:46pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Dancing Bear...I pray God brings you a mate!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 10, 2013 @ 7:58pm MT

I really believe in CC and I hope someday you will expand to the province of Quebec because we do not have any christian site for us believers so I pray that you will win this. God bless you.

By on November 8, 2013 @ 8:39am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank You.....we hope to eventually move further into Canada...I appreciate your support!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 8, 2013 @ 2:18pm MT

It was nice to find the site ...results awaits..My prayers

By on October 25, 2013 @ 1:49pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Herman....I pray you have a God honoring experience.

By Dr. Wyatt on October 25, 2013 @ 8:06pm MT

This is the first online dating thing I've tried on the internet. I got to say I looked at other ones and they didn't feel right so I kept coming back to ChristianCrush , CC takes care of people and who they are looking out for. CC should win this !!!!!!!!!!!

By on October 24, 2013 @ 9:41am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Terbear...glad to hear you feel like we take care of people, which is our goal!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 24, 2013 @ 9:48am MT

RinniTin
I was a member of CM and struggled with the fact that it was not owned by a Christian company. When I cancelled my membership, they continued to bill my credit card. I would love to join Christian Crush but there are no members in my area of the country. :(

By RinniTin on October 24, 2013 @ 6:13am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you....yes, trying to grow our membership is definitely our top priority!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 24, 2013 @ 6:15am MT

RubyJewel
I am ChristianCrush's biggest fan. I will be happy when more men sign up in my area, but I am content to wait. God is in control, right? Also, I really appreciate that Wyatt is very open to suggestions for improvements to the site. I used to be a CM member, and I will never go back. It always bothered me that it is not owned or run by true Christians. It gives me such peace to know of Wyatt's faith, and his honorable motivation for creating CC. I know he really cares about helping us find a mate the right way, and to help us prepare for marriage. I also had some serious complaints about CM's billing practices. They ignored the fact that I had canceled automatic rebilling, and took over $70 from my bank account with no warning. That is just NOT cool. If I can't trust them to bill me correctly and honor my preferences, how can I trust them at all? I know I will never have this problem at ChristianCrush.

By RubyJewel on October 23, 2013 @ 11:28pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Hello Ruby....your continued support and encouragement is incredible to me and I always appreciate your kindness and feedback.

By Dr. Wyatt on October 24, 2013 @ 5:41am MT

This is a very good case made for Christian Crush but unfortunately the subscribers in my part of the country are too few and far between. It will be the best available when it grows larger.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 7:12pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
I appreciate the vote of confidence!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 7:14pm MT

I have been a member of both now. I was disappointed with the personality profile you came up with for me. I didn't think it was totally accurate in spite of me answering the questions as honestly as possible. I did like the feature on Christianmingle of comparing two different questionnaires to see where there were differences and/or similarities. I like the more biblical worldview here on this site. I was unaware that you screen for sexual offenders but how do we know if the person is officially a member or just taking advantage of your free two week offer?

By on October 23, 2013 @ 6:04pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks for the feedback Julie! Regarding the personality assessment, feel free to take it again to see if the results are consistent and/or have someone really close to you fill it out on you to check for consistency or differences. Regarding the sex offender screen we perform, we screen every member who is able to read their messages and reply. For those who sign up with two weeks free, we require a copy of the their driver's license so we can verify their identity and run their name through the sex offender registry we use. Despite our best efforts, it's not fool proof so we always encourage members to investigate members they are getting serious with through http://www.mymatchchecker.com.

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 7:10pm MT

I like christian crush for all the above reasons and I,m praying for you also.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 3:00pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you so much!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 3:03pm MT

Fawn
I would like to see Christian Crush win. The one thing Mingle has are more members. I do like Christina Crush for all of the above reasons. I am praying for you.

By Fawn on October 23, 2013 @ 11:16am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
We appreciate your prayers!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 11:37am MT

I like Crush in the side by side comparison, however, there are too few members in my age group and location. By "too few," I actually mean none.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 11:13am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks for the feedback...yes, growing our membership is definitely our top priority moving forward

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 11:36am MT

Same with me.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 3:13pm MT

everythingoriginal
"Crush" I Like that They Are Privately Owned, And More Member Honoring Than "Mingle"

By everythingoriginal on October 22, 2013 @ 3:29pm MT 50
Dr. Wyatt
Thank you...glad to hear you feel we are more "member honoring."

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 11:37am MT

Leave a Comment

Please log in or create an account to post a comment.