Christian Mingle Reviews | The Ultimate Guide!

Welcome to the ultimate Christian Mingle review vs ChristanCrush! One of the first questions many people ask is if ChristianMingle® is really Christian? Unfortunately, they are not. They are owned and operated by Spark Networks, which is not a Christian company. Spark is a parent company of numerous dating sites for various faiths, with Christianity just being one of them. 

The following table illustrates some of the major differences between Christian Mingle and Christian Crush.® is a registered trademark of Spark Networks USA, LLC

Provides format for Christians singles to meet
Yes Yes
Allows members to search profiles for free Yes Yes
Christian owned and operated No Yes
Provides a free trial
No Yes
New members are screened
No Yes
Privately run for individualized customer care
No Yes
Developed by a Christian psychologist
No Yes
10% tithed to local ministries
No Yes
Video profiles integrated
No Yes
Personality assessments integrated
No Yes


1-Is it a Christian company?

When comparing ChristianMingle with ChristianCrush, there are two main similarities. The first is they both allow members to search for free and the second is they both provide a platform for Christian singles to meet. Unfortunately, that's where the similarities end and the differences begin. As mentioned above, one of the first major differences is how ChristianMingle is not Christian owned and operated while ChristianCrush is. With ChristianCrush, you have the confidence of knowing they are a truly Christian owned and operated organization. This means everything from the founder's beliefs, to the values demonstrated in the profile questions, to the principles expressed in their Christian dating blog are all coming from a Biblical worldview. Knowing they are a Christ centered site, you can have confidence in the integrity and motivation for ChristianCrush's mission, customer relations, and desire to help brothers and sisters in Christ find one another. 


2-Is There A Free Trial?

The second major contrast is that ChristianCrush provides two weeks free to members with 100% complete profiles and ChristianMingle does not. This is advantages for several reasons. First, it allows people to fully experience ChristianCrush free of charge before deciding if they would like to become a subscribed member or not. Also, it provides more opportunities for people to join ChristianCrush who may not be able to afford a subscription fee otherwise.


3-Are The Member's Screened?

A third major difference is ChristianCrush screens every new member and ChristianMingle does not. While they can't guarantee the accuracy of their screens or a member's actions beyond their site, ChristianCrush can guarantee that every new profile is manually reviewed for authenticity along multiple factors, providing a much safer experience for their users.


4-Is It Privately Owned?

A fourth major contrast is ChristianCrush is privately owned and operated, allowing it to provide much quicker response time for customer support and more individualized care. In contrast, as mentioned above, ChristianMingle is owned by Spark Networks which operates more than 20 various dating sites, resulting in much less individualized care and concern for its members.

 Christian mingle reviews


5-Was It Developed By A Christian Psychologist?

A fifth difference is ChristianCrush was developed by a Christian Psychologist and ChristianMingle was not, which impacts multiple elements. First, it influences the types of questions asked in each profile. For example, the types of questions used for ChristianCrush were intentionally selected in order to maximize useful information provided for members to make informed choices on who to connect with further. In addition, knowing who the owner of ChristianCrush is and what his credentials are creates a level of safety, trust, and integrity. In contrast, ChristianMingle uses a cookie cutter template that's the same for all of Spark Network's 20 dating sites.


6-Do They Tithe The Proceeds?

A sixth major difference between the two sites is ChristianCrush tithes 10% to local ministries and ChristianMingle does not. Most Christians want to financially support organizations that agree and endorse their Biblical worldview. With ChristianCrush, members have that peace of mind and the added bonus of knowing their financial contribution will be furthering other ministries as well. In contrast, many people have complained about some of the unethical financial practices on ChristianMingle.


7-Do They Use Video Profiles?

The seventh major difference is ChristianCrush provides video profiles and ChristianMingle does not. Video profiles are a cutting edge technology and ChristianCrush is the only Christian dating site currently providing this service. Video profiles are far superior compared to standard photos because they provide tremendous amounts of information both verbally and nonverbally, leading to better matches. In addition, being able to see a video allows someone to determine much quicker if they would be a good match or not, compared to wasting several weeks with emails and the eventual date to find out. Furthermore, profiles are much more interesting and engaging to view when video clips are attached.


8-Do They Use Personality Assessments?

Finally, the eighth main difference is ChristianCrush uses a derivative of the NEO personality assessment, which is the leading research based personality test in the field of psychology, and ChristianMingle does not. Using this assessment is essential for several reasons. First, members can have confidence in knowing the assessment is really high in validity and reliability so the results are very trustworthy. In addition, it allows members to filter profiles based on the various personality traits they desire in a partner. Last, it helps members determine how similar or different they are with another member by comparing their scores, providing vital information about possible future compatibility.


What's been your experience with ChristianMingle vs ChristianCrush?

Comments (51)

'Crush' as a African I wanna thank you for creating such an avenue which serves in connecting Christians all over the globe. Unfortunately here in Africa not everyone possess a credit card, I really don't know how to go about paying Fo the charges .

By Tata on November 22, 2015 @ 10:56am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Tata......I appreciate your positive feedback. Unfortunately, there's no other forms of payment we can accept at this time. God bless you!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 23, 2015 @ 5:50am MT

Thank you for creating this site at first I thought it was just a joke when u asked for my state id,thanks for being vigilant with the offenders my the good lord bless the work you are doing

By gracie12 on July 8, 2015 @ 4:46am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
My pleasure....we try to keep a close eye on who is joining to increase the quality of our members.

By Dr. Wyatt on July 8, 2015 @ 4:56pm MT

I am a serious Christian and the profiles here seem to be in line with that. I hope it works out well. I have tried the others, and you must mow a lot of grass before you get to the flowers. This seems much more suited to find a mate who is hungry for the things of God.

By on July 1, 2015 @ 8:12pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your analogy about mowing grass before you get to the flowers. God bless your journey!

By Dr. Wyatt on July 1, 2015 @ 8:15pm MT

Christian Crush needs to allow for more specific searches. I have specific needs.

By Brbo70 on June 6, 2015 @ 8:16am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Brbo70....yes, that's something we plan to do on the horizon once our database grows larger.

By Dr. Wyatt on June 6, 2015 @ 12:39pm MT

I use to be on ChristianMingle, but so many men who claimed they were Christians never attended church or bible study at any time. Disappointing. This is why I choose ChristianCrush, I am a new member as of today.

By on March 11, 2015 @ 6:31pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Welcome Eternity...I hope you find more authentic Christ followers here.....Blessings!

By Dr. Wyatt on March 12, 2015 @ 8:37am MT

with Christ in the vessel we can smile at the storm

By Jeanb on May 26, 2014 @ 8:44am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Yes, He is the rock!

By Dr. Wyatt on May 26, 2014 @ 10:17am MT

Maggielou made a very good point that highlights my favorite feature of ChristianCrush: the first item on every profile is "Faith History". It's the most vital information any Christian single needs to know about a potential mate, so of course it should be first. It isn't that way on Christian Mingle that I recall! When I'm searching profiles here, because of the small excerpt I can read under Faith History, I know whether or not I want to read more. On CC, that's where you make your first impression (other than your photo), so you should make good use of the opportunity. If a guy makes no effort, or just didn't have anything to say, I know he's either not compatible with me or that he's one of those fake Christians. The man I want to be with will be willing and able to share his testimony. My best chance to find a true believer online is on ChristianCrush.

By RubyJewel on May 23, 2014 @ 3:15pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks RubyJewel....I appreciate your feedback on how you like that we put faith history first and foremost on every profile....trying to keep first things first.

By Dr. Wyatt on May 24, 2014 @ 9:37am MT

I really like this site but I hope that you continue to develop it for larger members as advertised on Christian radio even more and develop a mobile site that can be viewed over an iPhone or android. Also, I have an iPhone and iPad and can't record video since you're using the flash player technology. Could I suggest possibly Microsoft Silverlight? Or could you accept a video uploaded to you via YouTube?

By on February 26, 2014 @ 11:52pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Rexydog1....I appreciate all of your great ideas. We plan on moving to a responsive design in the future so our site is equally accessible on all devices and platforms. Regarding the video, you can record one on your iphone or ipad (no longer than 30 seconds) and email it to

By Dr. Wyatt on February 27, 2014 @ 7:54am MT

Faw Ling 4 U
I have tried a few different sites and seem to have an easier time finding women of faith here than on other sites. There are a number of other "christian" places like cdff and cafe, but none with the integrity I see here. On a technical note, some of the other places have better fine grained searching abilities, so hopefully that will get better with time, like being able to specify better age based searches, searches filters for height, attendance, children, etc... More links to approved resources, i.e. something Dr. W. would actually recommend rather than ads, would be great also, like good books relating to singleness, dating, relationships, etc... Blessings, Brad

By Faw Ling 4 U on December 27, 2013 @ 10:59am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Faw Ling 4 U...I really appreciate the feedback from you. One book I'd recommend for singles from a Christian perspective is Boundaries in Dating by Cloud and's great!

By Dr. Wyatt on December 27, 2013 @ 12:45pm MT

I have met a good Christian man on Christian mingle and no one on Christian crush. Also Christian crush makes it harder to pay due to does not accept all credit cards.

By mountaingirl46 on November 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you for the feedback Mountaingirl46. So glad to hear you were able to meet someone special on Christian Mingle. I pray it goes well for you!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 30, 2013 @ 8:56am MT

amande del ville
am really happy to be part of this program

By amande del ville on November 19, 2013 @ 3:17am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Amande!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 19, 2013 @ 2:38pm MT

Do pray that you would expand to Alberta, Canada. God Bless you for your much needed ministry.

By Pandoraiam on November 10, 2013 @ 10:05am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Pandoraiam..I really appreciate your support!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 10, 2013 @ 8:00pm MT

Christian Mingle has a lot of very questionable "christians" that are trying to come across as believers. All I have to do is ready one or two answers and it is done! The biggest is one is where do you go to church or a similar question...most of the answers are nowhere!

By Maggielou on November 8, 2013 @ 7:13pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
HI Maggielou...yes...there are many spammers out there trying to create fake profiles all the time.

By Dr. Wyatt on November 10, 2013 @ 7:58pm MT

Your site is by far the better. I was pleasantly shocked to receive a personal reply from you when I asked a question regarding privacy. I haven't joined because there weren't any men in my age group near me. I suppose I should rethink this because I am counting on God to bring me a mate and I certainly think He would choose to bring me someone through my church or through a site that honors Him.

By DancingBear on November 8, 2013 @ 4:46pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Dancing Bear...I pray God brings you a mate!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 10, 2013 @ 7:58pm MT

I really believe in CC and I hope someday you will expand to the province of Quebec because we do not have any christian site for us believers so I pray that you will win this. God bless you.

By on November 8, 2013 @ 8:39am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank You.....we hope to eventually move further into Canada...I appreciate your support!

By Dr. Wyatt on November 8, 2013 @ 2:18pm MT

It was nice to find the site ...results awaits..My prayers

By on October 25, 2013 @ 1:49pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you Herman....I pray you have a God honoring experience.

By Dr. Wyatt on October 25, 2013 @ 8:06pm MT

This is the first online dating thing I've tried on the internet. I got to say I looked at other ones and they didn't feel right so I kept coming back to ChristianCrush , CC takes care of people and who they are looking out for. CC should win this !!!!!!!!!!!

By on October 24, 2013 @ 9:41am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks Terbear...glad to hear you feel like we take care of people, which is our goal!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 24, 2013 @ 9:48am MT

I was a member of CM and struggled with the fact that it was not owned by a Christian company. When I cancelled my membership, they continued to bill my credit card. I would love to join Christian Crush but there are no members in my area of the country. :(

By RinniTin on October 24, 2013 @ 6:13am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you....yes, trying to grow our membership is definitely our top priority!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 24, 2013 @ 6:15am MT

I am ChristianCrush's biggest fan. I will be happy when more men sign up in my area, but I am content to wait. God is in control, right? Also, I really appreciate that Wyatt is very open to suggestions for improvements to the site. I used to be a CM member, and I will never go back. It always bothered me that it is not owned or run by true Christians. It gives me such peace to know of Wyatt's faith, and his honorable motivation for creating CC. I know he really cares about helping us find a mate the right way, and to help us prepare for marriage. I also had some serious complaints about CM's billing practices. They ignored the fact that I had canceled automatic rebilling, and took over $70 from my bank account with no warning. That is just NOT cool. If I can't trust them to bill me correctly and honor my preferences, how can I trust them at all? I know I will never have this problem at ChristianCrush.

By RubyJewel on October 23, 2013 @ 11:28pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Hello Ruby....your continued support and encouragement is incredible to me and I always appreciate your kindness and feedback.

By Dr. Wyatt on October 24, 2013 @ 5:41am MT

This is a very good case made for Christian Crush but unfortunately the subscribers in my part of the country are too few and far between. It will be the best available when it grows larger.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 7:12pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
I appreciate the vote of confidence!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 7:14pm MT

I have been a member of both now. I was disappointed with the personality profile you came up with for me. I didn't think it was totally accurate in spite of me answering the questions as honestly as possible. I did like the feature on CM of comparing two different questionnaires to see where there were differences and/or similarities. I like the more biblical worldview here on this site. I was unaware that you screen for sexual offenders but how do we know if the person is officially a member or just taking advantage of your free two week offer?

By on October 23, 2013 @ 6:04pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks for the feedback Julie! Regarding the personality assessment, feel free to take it again to see if the results are consistent and/or have someone really close to you fill it out on you to check for consistency or differences. Regarding the sex offender screen we perform, we screen every member who is able to read their messages and reply. For those who sign up with two weeks free, we require a copy of the their driver's license so we can verify their identity and run their name through the sex offender registry we use. Despite our best efforts, it's not fool proof so we always encourage members to investigate members they are getting serious with through

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 7:10pm MT

I like christian crush for all the above reasons and I,m praying for you also.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 3:00pm MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thank you so much!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 3:03pm MT

I would like to see Christian Crush win. The one thing Mingle has are more members. I do like Christina Crush for all of the above reasons. I am praying for you.

By Fawn on October 23, 2013 @ 11:16am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
We appreciate your prayers!

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 11:37am MT

I like Crush in the side by side comparison, however, there are too few members in my age group and location. By "too few," I actually mean none.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 11:13am MT 50

Dr. Wyatt
Thanks for the feedback...yes, growing our membership is definitely our top priority moving forward

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 11:36am MT

Same with me.

By on October 23, 2013 @ 3:13pm MT

"Crush" I Like that They Are Privately Owned, And More Member Honoring Than "Mingle"

By everythingoriginal on October 22, 2013 @ 3:29pm MT 50
Dr. Wyatt
Thank you...glad to hear you feel we are more "member honoring."

By Dr. Wyatt on October 23, 2013 @ 11:37am MT

Leave a Comment

Please log in or create an account to post a comment.